Crawfish stuffed shells

Crawfish stuffed shells with a crawfish cream sauce.

What’s better than family time? Family time PLUS crawfish.. Only my favorite thing to eat. No, really… I could eat crawfish every day of my life if I wouldn’t be at risk for Mercury poison.. May 1st started out as just a boring old day.. Nick and I woke up and started cleaning the house (since we had been neglecting it for over a week). It was pouring outside so it was already a gloomy day until I thought to myself “Wow, this is the first weekend since Good Friday that Uncle Tim hasn’t boiled crawfish.” And got a little sad, because Uncle Tim’s crawfish are THE best crawfish I have ever had.. (BROWNIE POINTS) So, I called around a few seafood places to get some prices and as I was giving up on my search, I get a text from my uncle’s girlfriend asking what I was doing all day… My plans? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. She then replied “We’re doing the same thing we do every weekend, boiling 5 sacks of crawfish at Uncle Tim’s. Come over.” I tell ya, I’ve never seen Nick and I get ready so fast… FIVE. SACKS????? WHAT. A. TIME. TO. BE. ALIVE.  Five sacks and about 10 people attending= LOTS AND LOTS of leftover crawfish.  So of course, me being the cook that I am, the whole time I was eating/peeling, I was contemplating on what to cook. Then, my amazing, great, smart, genius boyfriend suggested “CRAWFISH STUFFED SHELLS.” INSTANT salivation. And low and behold, I have created my new favorite dish!

(First, let me apologize and say, I was SO excited to cook this dish that I literally didn’t measure A N Y T H I N G. So, I’m just winging it here and trying to estimate my measurements… Be sure to constantly taste as you’re cooking like I do!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack of jumbo shells
  • 2 cups of crawfish tails
  • 1 cup of flour (I just sprinkled it in until I felt it was the perfect thickness).
  • 2-3 tablespoons of chopped onions, garlic, bell peppers, celery (I use Guidry’s seasoning; I also used the garlic cloves from the crawfish boil, which I REALLY think made a huge difference)
  • 1 pint of whipping cream.
  • Romano cheese
  • Parsley
  • 1 stick of butter.

Steps:
Fill a quart size pot with water, bring to a boil, add shells until tender (pay attention- you don’t want to overcook the noodles here). Pour in strainer and run water over the noodles to avoid sticking.

Melt a half stick of butter in a large skillet on MEDIUM HIGH. Add onions, garlic, bell peppers, celery and cook down until vegetables are soft. Pour in 2 cups of crawfish tails and cook for 3-5 minutes. Add seasoning (Tony Chachere’s, Slap Ya Mama, etc.) on top (depends on how spicy/not spicy you like your food) Add flour and stir immediately. I didn’t measure the flour, so just eyeball it until you think it’s the right texture… It should be thick, but still loose. Let simmer and slowly pour in/stir half pint of whipping cream (the rest will be used later). Turn heat to low.

Sauce on top:
Melt other half of stick of butter. Pour in the rest of the whipping cream and stir. Add spice seasoning (I used Tony Chachere’s) and a handful of Romano cheese. Bring to a boil then let simmer.

Almost done… drizzle sauce in a baking pan and add shells.. Add crawfish mixture to shells (I found using a small spoon was easiest..), pour sauce on top and add romano cheese and parsley.. Bake at 350 for 7-10 minutes…. and FINALLY…. ENJOY A LITTLE TASTE OF HEAVEN!!!

Happy eating,

Mama Rach

Leave a Reply

