MawMaw’s Stuffed Shells!

Rosemary’s Stuffed Shells

We all have that one specific dish our grandparents or parents make that we could eat almost every day. If I’m being honest, I could eat my grandma and my moms cooking every day anyway, but y’all catch my drift, eh? For me, stuffed shells from my grandma have always and will always been one of my “comfort foods.” Now I know what you’re thinking, “Will she ever post recipes of something other than pasta?!” Honestly, probably not. Just kidding, BUT I am Italian (so I get a pass right?) and I do kind of have a pasta addiction. This one is just too good not to share with y’all!

First, let me start by saying I did NOT make my own red sauce this time. I typically do, but I didn’t start cooking til almost 8:00PM so I skipped out on that tonight. SORRY!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of jumbo pasta shells
  • 1 lb of ground meat
  • 3 tablespoons of garlic (if you aren’t a garlic fanatic like me, putting less won’t affect the outcome!)
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 2 cups of shredded low fat mozzarella cheese
  • 1 jar of Prego Traditional Sauce (your preference)
  • 1 pint of low fat ricotta cheese
  • 2 hard boiled eggs (YES, you read that right) chopped into small pieces.
  • 1 bag of chopped spinach (You don’t HAVE to use the whole bag, it all depends on how YOU feel about spinach. I’m sure it would be just as good without it, too!)
  • Tony Chachere’s
  • Garlic powder
  • Italian seasoning
  1. Bring a large pot of water to a rapid boil. Add pasta and cook until al dente; drain.
  2. In a large skillet, melt 2 tablespoons of butter. Add onions, garlic, and bell pepper and cook down until soft. Add meat and cook until it is no longer pink; drain.
  3. Pour meat back to the same skillet. Add Tony’s, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, hard boiled eggs, and chopped spinach; stir in ricotta cheese then simmer. 
  4. In a separate saucepan, heat up tomato sauce (unless you are making your own) for 3-5 minutes until warm.
  5. Use a tablespoon to scoop mixture into noodles and lay them out on a baking pan. 
  6. Pour sauce over noodles and mixture and cover with mozzarella cheese. 
  7. Place in the oven on 350 degrees until the cheese is melted.
  8. DIG IN!!!!!! 

Happy eating,

Mama Rach

(Side note, I doubled this recipe as I had a lot of ground meat that I had taken out last night, but plans changed and I didn’t cook. Using 2.5 lbs of ground meat made roughly 40 stuffed shells, so figure 1 lb will make about 20!)

Leave a Reply

